East Asian Seas Partnership Council

The East Asian Seas (EAS) Partnership Council is a decision-making body that provides the policy and operational guidance for the progress of the implementation of the Sustainable Development Strategy for the Seas of East Asia (SDS-SEA). It steers, monitors, and reviews the ongoing directions of the implementation.

Comprised of all Country and Non-Country Partners, it formulates programme and operational policy in support of the implementation of the SDS-SEA, in accordance to the direction, recommendations, and commitments provided by the Ministerial Forum, the East Asian Seas Congress, and other Partners.

The EAS Partnership Council features two constituents of governance – the Intergovernmental and Technical Sessions.

The EAS Partnership Council elects an Executive Committee to guide and oversee the implementation of recommendations and decisions of the Council intersessionally. 


Intergovernmental Session

PEMSEA’s country partners comprise the Intergovernmental Session.

The Intergovernmental Session is composed of the duly designated representatives of the Partner countries in the Seas of East Asia region and is led by a Chair election from among the partner countries. It formulates guidelines concerning the participation of other Partners in the Session, as it deems appropriate. It considers the recommendations of the Technical Session and provides policy guidance, reviews work programs, approves budgetary allocation, monitors and evaluates the progress, outcomes and impacts  of the SDS-SEA implementation. The Intergover


Technical Session

The Technical Session is composed of all Country and Non-Country partners. It receives technical and scientific reports from the Partners and experts, identifies and evaluates projects and work programmes, provides technical advice and information, and promotes partnership interactions on topics of common interest. All members of the Council elect the Technical Session Chair.